Artist Statement

Working with various photographic and presentation methods, such as film and installation, I take a critical view on social and cultural issues. My current projects have focused on deconstructing gender issues, attempting to bring my personal experiences into consciousness and battling towards women’s subject hood.

I attempt to make reference to the male gaze and how this affects women’s mental health and position in society. The booth loosely reflects the moral shame in Maltese culture due to the long-standing teachings provided by the Church, conveying the idea of a secret being kept for too long. The nature of my work often depends upon the space in which it is viewed, where I try to include the viewer as a central element. I attempt to bring into question their role as spectator, subject, or performer.

 

Leave a Reply

